Faculty Resources and Bylaws

Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts Faculty Governance Documents

Below are links to college by-laws and other documents pertaining to faculty governance and promotion and tenure processes.


The latest edition of the College Bylaws were amended at the faculty meeting on November 13, 2015.

Summary of changes to the College bylaws adopted at the Nov. 13, 2015 faculty meeting.

Summary of changes to the College bylaws amendments addendum to reflect new School of Art, Art History & Design.

Promotion and Tenure

Regularly Scheduled Meetings
School of Art, Art History & Design Faculty 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. Fridays Weekly
Glenn Korff School of Music Faculty 8:30 – 9:20 a.m. Thursdays Weekly
Johnny Carson School of Theatre and Film Faculty 11:30 – 12:20 p.m. Mondays Weekly
College Administrative Council 10:30 – 12:00 p.m. First Tuesday of each month
College Executive Committee 3:30 – 5:00 p.m. Fridays Aug. 25, Sept. 29, Oct. 27, Nov. 17, Jan. 12, Jan. 26, Feb. 23 & April 27
College Curriculum Committee day/time TBA
Undergraduate Student Advisory Board 8:15 – 9:30 a.m. Fridays Sept. 1, Sept. 29, Oct. 27, Nov. 17, Dec. 8, Jan. 26, Feb. 23 & March 30
Graduate Student Advisory Board 8:30 – 9:30 a.m. Thursdays Sept. 28, Oct. 26, Nov. 16, Dec. 7, Jan. 25, Feb. 22 & March 29
Fall Faculty Meeting 11:30am–1:00pm Nov. 10, 2017 Location TBA
Spring Faculty Meeting 3:30–5:00pm April 6, 2018 Location TBA

To view an archive of the previous faculty meeting minutes and agendas, please visit this page: Faculty Meetings.

Faculty Grants

Applications for Hixson-Lied Faculty Grants are done through NUGrant: nugrant.unl.edu/system/login. Applicants must hold a paid appointment in the College with the rank of Lecturer (0.5 or more FTE), Senior Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Assistant Professor of Practice, Research Assistant Professor or above. Visiting, adjunct, and emeriti faculty are ineligible.

Quick Links

For more resources, see the Grant Writing Resources section below.

Grant Details

Faculty Research/Creative Activity Grant

These grants are awarded on a competitive basis to support projects that assist faculty research in ways that bring national and international attention to the College and the creative and scholarly work of the faculty.

Funding PeriodsApplication Deadline
Mar. 1, 2018-Feb. 28, 2019 Jan. 8, 2018, 5pm

Faculty Presentation of Scholarly and Creative Activity Grant

These grants are awarded on a competitive basis to offer partial support to faculty members who are invited to present their creative and scholarly work in regional, national and international settings.

Funding PeriodsApplication Deadline
Nov. 15, 2017-July 14, 2018 Sept. 8, 2017, 5pm
March 15, 2018-Nov. 14, 2018 Jan. 8, 2018, 5pm
July 15, 2018-March 14, 2019 Apr. 6, 2018, 5pm

Faculty Development Travel Grant

Designed to provide partial support for faculty travel associated with faculty professional development activities, these grants are awarded in the spring and fall.

Funding PeriodsApplication Deadline
Jan. 1, 2018-June 30, 2018 Oct. 4, 2017, 5pm
July 1, 2018-Dec. 31, 2018 April 6, 2018, 5pm

Grant Writing Resources

If you have any questions, please contact Christopher Marks, Associate Dean of the Hixson-Lied College of Fine & Performing Arts at cmarks2@unl.edu.

Faculty and Staff Awards

Funding support has been created to establish an ongoing awards program for faculty and staff, to recognize outstanding performance and accomplishments in the areas of teaching, research and creative activity, faculty service, outreach and engagement, outstanding lecturer, and staff service to the College and University.

Click HERE for Hixson-Lied Faculty Award guidelines--nominations due to School Director by March 15, 2018.

Click HERE for Hixson-Lied Staff Award guidelines--nominations due to Associate Dean by Feb. 1, 2018.

Click HERE for the Distinguished Teaching Award guidelines--nominations due the Associate Dean by the first Friday in December.
  • Distinguished Teaching Award
  • Outreach/Engagement or Service Award
  • Academic Advising Award
  • Curriculum Development Award
  • Junior Faculty Teaching Award
  • Junior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award
  • Senior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award
  • Outstanding Lecturer Award
  • Hixson-Lied Staff Awards (Outstanding Staff Award, Award for Exemplary Service & M.V.P. Award)--nominations due Feb. 1, 2018.
Picture of the faculty and staff winners
Left to right: Dean Chuck O'Connor, Aaron Sutherlen, Karen Kunc, Matthew Sontheimer, Philip Sapirstein, Michael Cotton, Michael Hoff, Margaret Bohls and Andrea Maack. Photo by Greg Nathan.