The Hixson-Lied Advisory Board was created to review and react to requests for expenditures of income from the Hixson-Lied endowment to benefit the college and its affiliated organizations. The board encourages requests for funding that will truly advance excellence in the college and enhance its national reputation. Additionally, the board is involved in overseeing the investment of the endowed funds in cooperation with the University of Nebraska Foundation's Finance Committee.

The Advisory Board is comprised of the trustee of the Lied Foundation Trust, the chancellor of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, the president of the University of Nebraska Foundation, the dean of the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, and six additional members appointed to a three-year term who may serve two consecutive terms.

Hixson-Lied Advisory Board Reports

David Duffy

David Duffy

In his role as Director of Creative Development and Production, Duffy leads the team responsible for the development and production of a variety of world-class entertainment experiences at the Disneyland Resort, including parades, holiday offerings, character appearances, special events, and more.

Full David Duffy bio

Terry L. Fairfield

Terry L. Fairfield

Terry L. Fairfield is currently Vice Chairman of the University of Nebraska Foundation. He previously served as CEO of the University of Nebraska Foundation from 1987-2008. He is a graduate of Kearney High School and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, he has completed post-graduate work at UNL and The George Washington University.

Full Terry L. Fairfield bio

Karen Harris

Karen Harris

Karen Harris is a homemaker and volunteer. A native Nebraskan, she graduated from Lincoln Northeast HS and received her Bachelor of Science from UNL.

Harris has worked as a child welfare caseworker, and as district manager for Doncaster Clothing.

She served on the Friends of Lied board of directors from 2002-9. While on the board she served as president and gala chair. She currently heads the Lied Legends.  Harris also served on the Lied Center of the Performing Arts statewide advisory board.

Full Karen Harris bio

Marg Helgenberger

portrait of Marg Helgenberger

Marg Helgenberger is a film and television actress known for her roles as Catherine Willows in the CBS drama "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation" and as K.C. Koloski in the ABC drama "China Beach," which earned her the 1990 Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series. She earned two Emmy Award and two Golden Globe nominations for her work on CSI. In 2005, she won the People’s Choice Award for Favorite Female Television Star and CSI received the Screen Actors Guild’s Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series.

Full Marg Helgenberger bio

Pamela Hemann

Pamela Hemann

Pamela  Hemann, FASAE, CAE, is president of Association Management Services, Inc. (AMS, Inc.), a management company serving regional, state and national nonprofit organizations, founded in 1988 by Ms. Hemann.  Under her leadership, AMS, Inc., has grown significantly during its 26 years of operation, and continues to expand its services.

Full Pamela Hemann bio

Mike Hill

Candid photo of Mike Hill

Mike Hill is a film editor who won an Academy Award for the film “Apollo 13.” Hill and his editing partner Dan Hanley have had a longstanding, notable collaboration with Director Ron Howard, having edited all of Howard’s films since “Night Shift” in 1982.

Hill was raised in Omaha, Neb., and received a criminal justice degree at the University of Nebraska at Omaha in 1972.

Full Mike Hill bio

Christina Hixson

Portrait photo of Christina M. Hixson

Christina M. Hixson graduated from Clarinda High School in Iowa in 1944. She borrowed $600 from an Uncle and moved to Omaha, Nebraska, to attend business school. After seven months, she went to work for Mr. Lied's car dealership as a switchboard operator and took dictation since his secretary could not. After the war, Miss Hixson became his secretary and also took on the accounting duties. Miss Hixson joined Mr. Lied in Las Vegas in 1960 and became his assistant.

Full Christina Hixson bio

Heather Jones

Heather Jones received her Bachelors' degree at the College of Saint Mary in Omaha in early childhood and elementary education. She is currently attending the University of Nevada Las Vegas to receive a Master's of Education in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Literacy.

Full Heather Jones bio

Heather Lundine

portrait of heatehr lundine

Heather is Senior Director of Development for the University of Nebraska Foundation. Her fundraising efforts are focused on the visual and performing arts at UNL. She has a long-time relationship with the arts in Nebraska and has worked in the nonprofit sector for more than 10 years. Heather joined the foundation in 2016 and is passionate about her work because scholarships helped her reach her own educational goals. Heather received her B.A. and M.A. in Interdisciplinary Humanities and English from Arizona State University.

Full Heather Lundine bio

Christopher Marks

Christopher Marks

Marks is the interim Dean of the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. He is also Professor at the Glenn Korff School of Music, where he has taught organ, music theory and performance practice.

Full Christopher Marks bio

Dr. Lance Nielsen

Dr. Lance Nielsen

Dr. Lance D. Nielsen is the Supervisor of Music for Lincoln Public Schools where he supervises all music programs K–12. Prior to becoming an administrator, he taught for 23 years in both public schools and higher education. His teaching appointments included Associate Professor of Music at Doane University, music teacher at Lincoln East High School, Norris Public Schools, and Kimball Public Schools in Nebraska. He continues to serve as an adjunct professor for Doane University teaching online music courses.

Full Dr. Lance Nielsen bio

Rita Stinner

Rita Stinner is a proud alumnus of University of Nebraska at Lincoln where she earned both Bachelor of Music Education and Master of Music degrees. Rita dedicated her professional endeavors to an improved quality of life in Nebraska, to the arts, and to music education. Additionally, Rita has been active in economic development, tourism, public relations, marketing, philanthropy and a solo singing career. She taught for the Lincoln Public Schools for 17 years before moving to western Nebraska. Ms.

Full Rita Stinner bio

Michael Zeleny


Mike Zeleny, chief of staff and associate to the chancellor since January 2018, is a senior adviser and reports on a wide variety of strategic and executive duties, including both internal and external relations.

Full Michael Zeleny bio