Chauncey Kate Kleveland named winner of Presser Scholarship at Nebraska’s Glenn Korff School of Music

Chauncey Kate Kleveland named winner of Presser Scholarship at Nebraska’s Glenn Korff School of Music

calendar icon30 Apr 2018    

Chauncey Kate Kleveland
Chauncey Kate Kleveland

University of Nebraska-Lincoln Glenn Korff School of Music’s Chauncey Kate Kleveland has been named the winner of the Presser Scholarship given by The Presser Foundation.

The most prestigious award given to an undergraduate student in the Glenn Korff School of Music is the Presser Scholarship. Each year, the Presser Foundation makes a grant to Nebraska to be given to an outstanding music major at or after the end of their junior year.  This student, selected by a vote of the Glenn Korff School of Music faculty, is to be designated as our “Presser Scholar.”  This national honor, which includes a cash award, is intended to recognize outstanding and meritorious achievement in music.

Kleveland is a junior undergraduate music education major at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She graduated from Beatrice High School in 2015. Throughout her time at Nebraska, she has studied clarinet with Dr. Diane Barger. She has played clarinet in a variety of ensembles, such as Symphony Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Symphonic Band, and Chamber Ensembles.  She also has been involved in choral music activities. She has a wide range of musical interests, also playing piano and singing in contemporary worship bands. After graduating in May of 2019, she plans to find a music teaching job in the Nebraska area. She is passionate about arts and music education at all age levels but is currently most interested in choral and instrumental music education at the middle school level. Her aim is to provide private and classroom students with an unforgettable creative and musical experience. Outside of her academic work, she is involved as an ambassador for the school of music, helping prospective students learn more about the music program at the University.

The Presser Foundation was established in 1939 under the Deeds of Trust and Will of the late Theodore Presser. It is one of the few private foundations in the United States dedicated solely to music education and music philanthropy. The Presser Foundation supports music performance and education through undergraduate and graduate scholar awards, operating and program support for music organizations, capital grants for music building projects, and assistance to retired music teachers.  Much of the grant making focus of the Foundation is on organizations and institutions in the 100-mile radius surrounding Center City Philadelphia.  For more information:

The Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholar Award Winners


1961-62 -- Mary Haight, JoAnn Otradosky, Larry Hoepfinger, Rosalind Mohnsen, Virginia Lantry, Mary Haight

1962-63—Mary Haight, Dennis Cox, Michael Veak, Roger Wilkening, Carla Hagen, Dennis Cox

1963-64 – Carole Peterson, Shirley Nunns, Mary Haight, John Moore, Allegra Smith

1964-65 – Keo Boreson, Katherine Wood, Eugene O’Brien, Douglas Hill, Kay Walters, Linda Marsh

1965-66 – Allan Cox, Maria Wiebe, Kay Walters, Roger Harvill

1966-67 – Geraldine Powers, Terry Grush, Wanda Nelson, Phillip Fauquet

1967-68 – Boyd Bacon, Wanda Nelson, David Grasmick, Susan Schulz

1968-69 – Shelley Fry, Nancy Reichman, Wayne Brinkman, Wayne Meyer

1969-70 – Bonita Bacon, Greg Dress, Kathy Harney, Robert Jenkins

1970-71 – Carol Goos, Jerry Johnson, Keith Heckman, Dennis Varley

1971-72 – Rita Smith, Charles Teutsch, Jay Finlayson, Steve Erickson

1972-73 – Lilly Conigilo, Roger Thaden, Marcia Miller, Rebecca Kanive


1974-75 – Ann Gillan, Vaughn Fritts, John F. Clark, Merilee Stehlik

1975-76 – Richard L. Drews, Debra Harris, David Jarvis, William Lindau

1976-77 – Debra Harris, Kevin Kaisershot, William Kerr, Jeanine M. York

1977-78 – Douglas Allen, Holly Berquist, Connie Crom, Jeanine York

1978-79 – Douglas Allen, Jeanine York, Lori Klippenstein

1979-80 – Steven Jobman

1980-81 – Lori Linn

1981-82 -- Timothy C. Andersen

1982-83 – David Scholl

1983-84 – Randall Fleer

1984-85 – Tracy Jordan

1985-86 – Kaleigh Patton

1986-87 – Kenneth Meints

1987-88 – Suzanne Koken

1988-89 –

1989-90 – Philip T. McCarthy

1990-91 – Michael Petruconis

1991-92 – Darin Drown

1992-93 – Barbara Nielsen

1993-94 – Anne Madison

1994-95 – Mark Revell

1995-96 – Stephanie Shalberg

1996-97 – Robert Lubbers

1997-98 – Andrea Jo Leising

1998-99 – Jennifer Backenstose

1999-2000 – Nicholas Phillips

2000-01 – Bryce Weber

2001-02 – Elizabeth Ormsby

2002-03 – Jennifer Stuart

2003-04 – Anne Patterson

2004-05 – Amelia Youngers

2005-06 – Sarah Hranac

2006-07 – Anna DeGraff

2007-08 – Jamie Unger

2008-09 – Theresa Morin

2009-10 – Benjamin Koch

2010-11 – Danielle Dixon

2011-12 – Karl Lyden

2012-13 – Hannah Lambert

2013-14 – Nathaniel Sullivan

2014-15 – John Kosch

2015-16 – Kathleen Johnson

2016-17 – Cambria Butcher

2017-18 – Chauncey Kate Kleveland