Jacqueline Mattingly

Interim Associate Dean for Student Success; Assistant Professor of Practice in Music
Area of Focus: Music History

Jacqueline Mattingly is Interim Associate Dean for Student Success for the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts and Assistant Professor of Practice in the Glenn Korff School of Music.

Her duties as Interim Associate Dean for Student Success focus on students, student diversity and inclusion, success, retention, and advising. Among her duties are student affairs (appeals, petitions, problems), Hixson-Lied student grant administration, Miller/Oldfield scholarship review, and academic distinction and thesis review. In addition, she will oversee our student advisory boards and the college’s Academic Distinctions and Awards and Grading Appeals committees. She will also serve on the College Recruitment Committee. She will review college advising and implement changes as necessary, serve as our Title IX Responsible Employee (students) and assist the dean in responding to student mental health concerns.

Prior to arriving at UNL, Mattingly served as Director of Instrumental Activities at the University of North Carolina Asheville, where she directed the String Ensemble, Concert Band and Pep Band, and taught applied horn. Previous teaching positions also include Lecturer of Music at Western Carolina University and Assistant Professor of Music at Dickinson State University.

Mattingly earned a Doctorate of Music in Horn Performance from the University of North Carolina Greensboro, Master of Music in Horn from the University of Calgary, and Bachelor of Music from Brandon University in Canada. She has also studied horn at the Banff Centre of the Fine Arts. Mattingly has served as a horn instructor at the International Music Camp in North Dakota, has taught at UNC Greensboro’s Summer Music Camp, and has given master classes throughout the US and Canada. Her performance venues range from playing professionally with numerous orchestras, chamber ensembles and solo performances. She currently serves as the Nebraska Representative to the International Horn Society.