Carter, Meyer awarded Glenn Korff Distinguished Artist/Scholar Awards

Carter, Meyer awarded Glenn Korff Distinguished Artist/Scholar Awards

calendar icon25 Apr 2019    

Matthew Carter and Trey Meyer
Matthew Carter and Trey Meyer

The Glenn Korff Distinguished Undergraduate and Graduate Artist/Scholar Awards were awarded as part of the Glenn Korff School of Music Honors Day Convocation in Westbrook Music Building on Thursday, April 25, 2019 on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.

Intended to recognize and reward excellence in performance and/or scholarship in the Glenn Korff School of Music, the winners of these prestigious awards for 2019-20 are – Undergraduate: Matthew Carter; Graduate: Trey Meyer. 

Kearney native Matthew Carter is a current junior majoring in vocal performance at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Previously, he has been on stage as Flick in Violet (UNL Opera), Warren in Ordinary Days (UNL Musical Theatre), Daniel Beauxhomme in Once on the Island (Snap! Productions), Princeton in Avenue Q (Nebraska Repertory Theatre), and King Triton in The Little Mermaid (Crane River Theater). Within his major, Matthew is a very active student, placing first in the Upper Class Musical Theatre Men's category and second in the Junior Men's Classical category at the 2018 Regional NATS Competition, as well as receiving the Singer of the Year award at the same competition.

Trey Meyer, a native of Brookings, South Dakota, is a first-year doctoral student in vocal performance at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He graduated with his Masters in vocal performance from UNL in the spring of 2018. Trey has recently performed in UNL productions of The Tender Land as Grandpa Moss, The Return of Ulysses as the title character, Così fan tutte as Guglielmo, and The Ballad of Baby Doe as Horace Tabor.

Other awards and recognitions were handed out as well including:

Edith Kern Sandfort Memorial Scholarship (Music Education) – Alyssa Soppe

Ida M. Vreeland Awards in Music (Composition) – Undergraduate: Abigail Siedell; Graduate: Joshua Spaulding

Russ Swanson Outstanding Bandman Award – Morgan Dennhardt

Tous Scholarships – Ethan Millington, Ben Petrmichl, Simon Bessmer

Hascall Scholarships – Eric Ullman, Spencer Collins

The Hoyt Marching Band Scholarships – Nick Pavel, Cal Denne, Megan Elbel

The Tony J. Kirkpatrick Memorial Scholarship – Adam Arslan

The Duane and Laurine Zastrow Marching Band Awards – Miranda Finn, Carter Dawson

Don and Carole Burt Vocal Excellence Scholarship – Matthew Carter

Marvella W. Burmester Scholarship – Karin Berg and Casey Allen 

Leesa Crnogorac Scholarship – Cooper Creal

Anne and William L. Porter Award for Creativity in Dance – Elizabeth (Aspen) Reisen

Ruth Diamond Levinson Dance Award – Kelli Bower and Gayle Rocz                                        

F. Pace Woods Award – Ruben Gomez Prada

Presser Scholar – Claudia Holm

More news from:
Glenn Korff School of Music