Schuttler, Nederhiser awarded Glenn Korff Distinguished Artist/Scholar Awards

Schuttler, Nederhiser awarded Glenn Korff Distinguished Artist/Scholar Awards

calendar icon30 Apr 2020    user iconBy Brian G Reetz

Undergraduate: Maren Schuttler; Graduate: Rebecca Nederhiser
Undergraduate: Maren Schuttler; Graduate: Rebecca Nederhiser

The Glenn Korff Distinguished Undergraduate and Graduate Artist/Scholar Awards were awarded as part of the Glenn Korff School of Music Honors Day Convocation on Thursday, April 30, 2020 as part of a virtual, online celebration.

Intended to recognize and reward excellence in performance and/or scholarship in the Glenn Korff School of Music, the winners of these prestigious awards for 2020-21 are – Undergraduate: Maren Schuttler; Graduate: Rebecca Nederhiser.

Maren Schuttler is originally from Bellevue, NE. She is a junior double major in Dance and Elementary Education.

Rebecca Nederhiser currently serves as Associate Conductor to the Nebraska Symphony Orchestra, (UNL) and Co-Conductor of the Campus Orchestra. Her past positions have included Associate Conductor of the Central Washington Symphony Orchestra (CWSO) and Apprentice Conductor to the Wenatchee Valley Symphony Orchestra (WCSO). Known for her collaborative spirit, Nederhiser has created unique orchestral experiences for performers and audiences alike. In 2017-2018, she partnered with the Central Washington Dance Academy and Central Washington Dance Ensemble, conducting performances of the Nutcracker and Pulcinella Suite. In 2019, she led performances of Arnold Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire, leading to the formation of the ensemble, the Lincoln Chamber Society. Recently awarded a Hixson-Lied grant, Nederhiser will embark on an original choreographic interpretation of Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite, featuring members of the UNL school of music and dance department.

Other awards and recognitions were handed out as well including:

Edith Kern Sandfort Memorial Scholarship (Music Education) – Katy Dwiggins 

Ida M. Vreeland Awards in Music (Composition) – Undergraduate: Andrew Barber; Graduate: Susumu Watanabe

Russ Swanson Outstanding Bandman Award – Dan Iverson

Tous Scholarships – Kason Fiedler, Sydney McGahan, Ryan Kimball

Johannes/Hascall Scholarships – Harrison Grasso, Jacob Coughlin

The Hoyt Marching Band Scholarships – Jake Evans, Nick Pavel, Nathan McGahan

The Tony J. Kirkpatrick Memorial Scholarship – Adam Arslan

The Duane and Laurine Zastrow Marching Band Awards – Grayson McGregor, Molly Olander

Don and Carole Burt Vocal Excellence Scholarship – Karin Berg

Leesa Crnogorac Scholarship – Madeline Reddel

Marvella W. Burmester Scholarship – Emma Thomas and Michael O’Brien

Anne and William L. Porter Award for Creativity in Dance – Kelly Bower

Ruth Diamond Levinson Dance Award –Gayle Rocz                                                                    

F. Pace Woods Award – Madeline Rogers

Presser Scholar – Cameron Stussie