The halls of the Westbrook Music Building are busy with activity, but our faculty, staff, alumni and students are out in the world doing amazing things too! Read about all of their activities here.

Johnny Manhattan Orchestra

Johnny Manhattan Orchestra

Many people with connections to the Glenn Korff School of Music are playing in the Johnny Manhattan Orchestra in Lincoln. The final performances this season are set for Friday, April 21 and Friday, May 19. The April 21 performance will be at the DelRay Ballroom, 817 R Street in Lincoln's Haymarket.  The performance will be from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.  The doors open at 6:00 p.m.  There is a $10.00 per person cover charge at the door.  For groups of 10 or more there is a reduced cover charge of $8.00 per person. The cover charge includes a swing dance lesson at 6:15 p.m. Participation in the swing dance lesson is optional. The DelRay Ballroom will be set up cabaret style with tables and chairs surrounding a large dance floor. 

The Johnny Manhattan Orchestra is a professional 18 member big band performing the greatest hits of the Swing Era, including music from Glenn Miller, Benny Goodman, Artie Shaw, Harry James, Tommy Dorsey, Les Brown and Count Basie.  All music is performed in its full big band format as originally recorded.  Each performance simulates a 1940's live radio broadcast from a famous New York City venue complete with Master of Ceremonies Johnny Manhattan and Vocalist Ruby Diamond.

The Glenn Korff School of Music connections include:



Sarah Cosano (DMA Candidate)
Andrew Janek (DMA Candidate)
Nick Stow (DMA Candidate)
Isaac Mitchell (Undergraduate)
Nick Brady (Undergraduate)


Derek Molacek (DMA Candidate)
Chris Leach (DMA Candidate)
Ian Copland (DMA Candidate)
William White (Undergraduate)
Brian Lew (DMA Candidate)


Kyle Granville (DMA Candidate)
Mitch Dunham (DMA Candidate)


Jose Ramos (Masters Candidate)
Stephen Cantarero (Undergraduate)


Wataru Niimori (DMA Candidate)


Mike Roe (DMA Candidate)



Brian Vuu


Matthew Boring
Taylor Cobb
Dean Haist
John Tavlin


Natalie Tavlin Kadlec
Kellyn Wooten


Dr. Paul Haar (Current UNL Director of Jazz Studies)

Jennifer Reeves

Jennifer Reeves

Doctoral Student Jennifer Reeves was named as this year’s recipient of the Paul Revitt Memorial Award for the Best Student Paper presented at the College Music Society Great Plains chapter meeting for 2017.

“Dreams are made of these….”  A Look at Collaboration Outside of the Music Box was chosen as the outstanding student paper for the conference.

In the paper, Reeves discussed the influence and inspiration of the Savvy Arts Venture Challenge (an entrepreneurship workshop she attended in 2015; she received a Hixson-Lied Grad Student Grant to attend the workshop) on her development of a collaborative chamber music group. Reeves talked about creating the Hijinx Clarinet Quartet and the first collaboration with photography and video to present a topic surrounding dreams. She also discussed the importance of collaboration for teachers, students, and performers. 

Jesse McBee

Jesse McBee

Doctoral Candidate Jesse McBee recently had this article published by smartmusic. 

Get More Out of Your Jazz Band Rehearsal: Warm Up Chops and Ears. Read:

Hye-Won Hwang

Hye-Won Hwang

Assistant Professor of Practice in Dance Hye-Won Hwang is presenting a paper, titled "Gender, Power and Globalization: Consumption, Circulation and Re-production of Western Knowledge in Dance" at the Pacific Sociological Association conference in Portland. 

The paper talks about a group of Korean female dance graduates trained in Western Laban institutions who returned to Korea and established their own institute in 2003. The paper investigates how these Korean women tactically found a way to climb out of a desperate employment shortage within limited dance-related job markets in Korea while promoting individuality through public dance education. The presentation particularly focuses on how their class that promotes the individual as an educational mode to challenge Confucian-based collectivism in Korea.

Nebraska Young Artist Awards

Welcome to Nebraska Young Artist Award Winners

We would like to welcome all Nebraska Young Artist Award winners to campus! 

The Nebraska Young Artist Awards annually recognize 11th grade students from Nebraska who are gifted and talented in the areas of visual art, dance, music, theatre, and film and new media. These students exemplify the pinnacles of creativity in one of the fine and performing arts.

Music includes: Grace Dowd, Jessica Ferguson, Jared Fitzgerald, Owen Gong, Peter Greff, Sydney Holdsworth, Nathaniel Jennings, Emma Jewell, Sean Lebita, Jae Hyn Lim, Chaz Maschman, Marissa Mathia, Annika Novotny, Kayla Pracht, Bentley Tonniges, Anne Wiltfong, Naomi Young.

Dance includes: Lillian Ball, Karissa Boesiger, Alyssa Callaghan, Haley Cecava, Sarah DeBoer, Melissa Estrada, Anna Greene, Leyten Morley, Kaitlyn Spaulding, Isabella Starkey, McKaylee True, Caroline Unger, Alex Wesslund, Aaliyah Wilkins, Hanna Wright. 

(from left) Victoria Handford, Dakota Mathew, Liza Piccoli, Matthew Carter and Abby Kurth. Brittany Albin

Success at Hal Leonard North American Vocal Competition

Congratulations to these Glenn Korff School of Music students, who won recognition in music publisher Hal Leonard's 2017 North American Vocal Competition. 

2nd Place: Liza Piccoli
Honorable Mention: Matthew Carter
Finalists: Abby Kurth & Dakota Mathew
Semifinalists: Brittany Albin & Victoria Handford


Collaborative Benefit Concert

Hosted by Glenn Korff School of Music student Kate Johnson, a collaborative concert benefiting the ACLU, the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, and the White Helmets (the Syrian civilian organization rescuing bombing victims) will take place Friday, April 7 at 7 p.m. in the chapel of the First-Plymouth Church; doors open at 6pm

Kate Johnson, soprano
Jennifer Novak Haar, pianist
Lupe Chairez, dancer
Ryler Dustin, poet
Lexi Raygor, violist
Andrew Barrett, guitarist
Hannah Bell, clarinetist

For more information visit:

In order to attend, show an electronic or printed donation receipt to one of the three organizations listed above (minimum of $5). There will also be a laptop outside of the chapel that can be used to make donations starting at 6pm. 

Tyler White David von Kampen

Tyler White and David von Kampen

Congrats to faculty Tyler White and David von Kampen!

They are two of the eight Nebraska artists recently selected as recipients of the Nebraska Arts Council’s 2017 Individual Artist Fellowship award in Performing Arts and Filmmaking. This prestigious program recognizes exemplary work by Nebraska artists on a three-year rotation between artistic disciplines: Literature, Performing Arts/Filmmaking and Visual Arts.

Read more:

Husker Horn Choir

The entire Husker Horn Studio will travel later this week to Cape Girardeau, MO for the MidSouth Horn Workshop, hosted by UNL alum Nicholas Kenney.  This workshop will have more than 300 horn players in attendance for a weekend of recitals, lectures, masterclasses, exhibits, and competitions.  Two horn quartets from Alan Mattingly's studio will compete in the quartet competition, six students will compete in the solo competition, three students will compete in the high orchestral excerpt competition, and one will compete in the low orchestral excerpt competition.  The studio will also perform two pieces on one of the horn choir recitals……one piece is arranged by horn student Taylor Mead and the other is arranged by Tony Falcone.

Justin Lepard

Alum Justin Lepard has been accepted and will attend the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) for his master of fine arts.