The halls of the Westbrook Music Building are busy with activity, but our faculty, staff, alumni and students are out in the world doing amazing things too! Read about all of their activities here.


College Music Society Great Plains Chapter Regional Conference

Welcome to everyone attending and presenting at the College Music Society Great Plains Chapter Regional Conference this weekend in Westbrook at the Glenn Korff School of Music! 

Melissa Hoag

Melissa Hoag Residency

Welcome Melissa Hoag, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Music Theory, Oakland University (Rochester, MI) for a residency. She will present to a combined Master's Convocation/Doctoral Colloquium in Westbrook 130 at 3:30 p.m. today; Brahms and Distance: Accompanimental Strategies in the Lieder. 

Nebraska Intercollegiate Band

We have nine students taking part in the Nebraska Intercollegiate Band at NSBA. They include:

De Davis, flute/picc

Dalton Stout, oboe/Eng horn

Cody Robinson, Bb clarinet

Aaron Pettorini, horn

Sydney McGahan, trombone

Alex Crowley, trombone

Ian Nelson, trombone

Chris Goulet, percussion

Stephen Cantarero, double bass

Jennifer Son

Winner of Play with the Chiaras Audition - Jennifer Son

The judges of the Play with the Chiaras Audition, the Chiara Quartet, Christopher Marks, and William McMullen, are excited to announce that cellist Jennifer Son has been chosen has the winner of the audition. She will perform the monumental String Quintet in C Major by Franz Schubert on March 29th as part of Chiara Quartet’s Hixson-Lied Concert Series at Kimball Recital Hall. The alternate winner is clarinetist Hannah Bell, and violist Jordan Ellis has been awarded an honorable mention. 

Nebraska State Bandmasters Association

Nebraska State Bandmasters Association

A big welcome to everyone involved with the Nebraska State Bandmasters Association. We hope you have a great time and a great learning experience while at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln! 

Sergio Ruiz

Sergio Ruiz named director of Glenn Korff School of Music

Sergio Ruiz, professor of music and chair of the Georgia College Department of Music, has been named the new director of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Glenn Korff School of Music. Ruiz will begin his new position on July 1.

Graduate Audition Days

Graduate Audition Days

Welcome to the Glenn Korff School of Music and Graduate Audition Days! 

CBDNA Conference

Five alumni will be presenting sessions at the CBDNA (College Band Directors National Association) National Conference in Kansas City in March:

Cliff Towner (DMA band conducting, now on the faculty at Georgia College)

James Dreiling (DMA band conducting, now on the faculty at Berea College)

Bill Perrine (MM band conducting, now on the faculty at Concordia University, Ann Arbor)

Jared Rawlings (MM band conducting, now on the faculty at University of Utah)

Jake Wallace (BA music/clarinet, now on the faculty of South Dakota State University)

Jared Hiscock

Jared Hiscock

The Walla Walla University Music Department Guest Recital will be performed by current Glenn Korff School of Music student Jared Hiscock, baritone, accompanied by pianist Anne Schilperoort. The performance will be from 6-7:30 p.m. Feb. 7 at the Melvin K. West Fine Arts Center Auditorium, Walla Walla University campus, 204 S. College Ave.

Jan Deaton

Jan Deaton

Band Office Associate Jan Deaton will be presented the Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Students at a reception on Friday, February 3 in the Centennial Room. The recognition is through the Division of Student Affairs, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Teaching Council and the Parents Association. The recognition is for a faculty or staff member who has made a significant contribution to the lives of a student while at the university.