Art & Art History Announces Kimmel Foundation Scholarships

Art & Art History Announces Kimmel Foundation Scholarships

calendar icon12 Jun 2014    

The Department of Art and Art History in the University of Nebraska-Lincoln has announced 13 recipients of Kimmel Foundation scholarships.

The Kimmel Scholarship is an annual award of up to $3,000 per year available to incoming students to the department.

Applicants must be residents of Nebraska and applying to UNL with a declared art major. The Kimmel Scholarship is renewable annually for up to four years for incoming freshmen and three years for incoming transfer students, pending a portfolio review at the end of each academic year.

The scholarships are funded by a gift from the Richard P. Kimmel and Laurine Kimmel Charitable Foundation to the University of Nebraska Foundation.

"We are so appreciative of the Kimmel Foundation for providing support for these scholarships, which allow us to recognize the most talented visual artists in Nebraska and help make their education here at UNL even more affordable," said Peter Pinnell, chair of the Department of Art and Art History in the Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts. "Their long-standing support for the visual arts in Nebraska is second to none."

The 2014-2015 Kimmel Scholarship recipients

(the student's high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown):

Crete: Tanner Reckling.

Fort Calhoun: Katie Edie, Colten Siemer.

Harrison: Connor Rodenbaugh (Sioux County).

Henderson: Kaci Hiebner (Heartland).

Inman: Davita Dick (O'Neill).

Lincoln: Kayla Bolich (North Star), Katharen Hedges (North Star).

Omaha: Katie Cramer (North), Brynna James (Burke), Xavier Ramirez (Central), Abie Rohde (Concordia).

Papillion: Kelsey Smith (Papillion-La Vista).