Matters of civil discourse flow in "Paragon Springs"

L-R) Devon Schovanec as Peter Stockman and Nate Ruleaux as Dr. Thomas Stockman.
L-R) Devon Schovanec as Peter Stockman and Nate Ruleaux as Dr. Thomas Stockman.

Matters of civil discourse flow in "Paragon Springs"

calendar icon26 Oct 2012    

University Theatre, the academic production program of the Johnny Carson School of Theatre and Film, continues its 2012-2013 season with the timely play "Paragon Springs" by Steven Dietz. Performances are Nov. 8-9 and 14-16 at 7:30 p.m. and Nov. 11 and 18 at 2:00 p.m. in the Studio Theatre, first floor Temple Building, 12th & R streets.

Tickets are $16, $14 faculty/staff and senior citizens, $10 students with ID. Tickets are available at the Lied Center Ticket Office, 301 North 12th Street, 402-472-4747 or 800-432-3231 from 11:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and one hour prior to performances in the Temple Lobby, or online at

"Paragon Springs" by Steven Dietz is based on the Henrik Ibsen play "An Enemy of the People." The “healing waters” of the American heartland town of Paragon Springs have been mysteriously poisoned and Dr. Thomas Stockman (Nate Ruleaux), the town’s principal citizen-activist, is bent on the truth, no matter the cost. A play that tackles the issues of greed, social responsibility and moral quandary, although originally written in the 19th century, is still timely, especially in an election year. In Dietz’s adaptation, set in 1926 amid the birth of radio, the voracity of small-town self-interest is put directly on trial. Political gamesmanship, pollution, cover-ups, whistle-blowing and personal integrity all unfold in an illuminating and entertaining drama. Director Carrie Lee Patterson, UNL Theatre professor of practice, says that she “is not interested in finding answers, only asking questions.”

The production is created by the graduate students:
  • David Tousley (scenic)
  • Beth Skinner (costumes)
  • Christine Donaghy (technical direction)
And undergraduate students:
  • Michael Fortkamp (lighting)
  • Richard McDermott (sound)
  • Megan Kraft (stage manager)
All cast members are undergraduates and include:
  • Clare M. Carl
  • Meghan Modrovsky
  • Devon Schovanec
  • Michael Lee
  • Cale T. Yates
  • Will Voelker
  • Maggie Austin
  • Thomas Boyle
  • Jaimie Pruden

Ms. Skinner and Ms. Donaghy are fulfilling requirements for their Master of Fine Arts degrees with their responsibilities to this production. Mr. Fortkamp, Ms. Kraft, Mr. Ruleaux, Mr. Schovanec, and Mr. Yates are fulfilling requirements for their Bachelor of Arts and Fine Arts degrees with their roles and responsibilities to this production.

The Studio Theatre has limited general admission seating. Reservations for a particular performance are strongly recommended.